Take a Hike!

I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown,

for going out, I found, was really going in.

― John MuirJohn of the Mountains: The Unpublished Journals of John Muir

Emerson Thoreau Amble
Along the Emerson-Thoreau Amble

Last fall, my friend Sydney and I visited New England and stayed for several nights in Concord, Massachusetts. We followed the two-mile Emerson-Thoreau Amble from Emerson’s house to Walden Pond. As we walked, we could almost hear the two authors discussing their latest book, article or poem. I am more of an ambler than a brisk walker myself, gazing at the changing light in the sky (transitory light effects), smelling the flowers, feeling the bark on the trees and finding small worlds underfoot. On my travels, I find a trail, neighborhood or market where I can meander. Step out of your car and embrace the world at a walker’s pace!

The Art of Strolling

I learned the fine art of strolling from my father. As we walked along Worley Lane, he taught me to embrace every moment of our precious, short life and to savor the beauty that surrounds us….concord grapes ripening in the sun were one of his favorites. Walking was also one of the best times to discuss ideas, my studies and his current book.

My walking cast fixed
Ready for another day of third grade.

My meandering ways led to my “arrest” in the first grade by the one and only cop in my hometown! He found me skipping along to school half an hour after the late bell. There was just too much to explore on my way! My teacher was unphased when he brought me to class since I was well-behaved and an eager student. Yes – I am one of those people who grew up in the midwest and walked a mile in the snow to school every day. I even walked to school on my walking cast after breaking my ankle. Besides those famous snowy days, there were many days when the sun shone through the red and golden leaves or the soft rain moistened the earth.  I enjoyed visiting with older neighbors on my way to and from school. I feel fortunate that I cultivated the love of walking, hiking and strolling at a young age.

Hiking and Breath Walking

North Cascades with Mandy
North Cascades with Mandy at 13

Living in the Pacific Northwest, we are blessed with many beautiful mountain hikes, wide, rolling rivers and stunning beach walks.  Hiking in the fresh, clean air is a tonic to my mind, body and spirit. The stress of daily living is erased and a calmness washes over me – I feel rejuvenated, vital and full of prana (life force). I dream of spending weeks or months walking on one of the pilgrimage walks found in various parts of  the world.  To tread on ancient paths creates a powerful connection with the past, present and future. Even when I walk along a familiar path, I envision the animals and people who walked before me. In reality, most of my walks are with my dog in a nearby park or through our neighborhood – observing the daily changes in our little part of the world. It is rare that I do not find at least 10 minutes for my “daily constitutional”.

Sometimes I practice breath walking:

Remember that breath walking – as with any meditation technique – should not be pursued with a grim determination to “get it right”. The point is to cultivate openness, relaxation and awareness which can include awareness of your undisciplined, wandering mind.

– Andrew Weil 

The Health Benefits of Walking for Older Adults

I think we all agree that walking is beneficial, especially as we age. According to American Senior Communities, a regular walking routine provides the following benefits:

  • Improves heart health
  • Lowers blood sugar
  • Reduces pain
  • Inexpensive
  • Promotes social engagement
  • Elevates your mood

How can you add walking to your daily routine? As many people say, it takes 21 days to change a habit. Some suggestions include creating a schedule that includes a daily walk, find a walking partner, volunteer to walk a foster dog or join a walking group. For people living in the Seattle area, Sound Steps, offered through LifeLong Recreation lists lots of walking opportunities for seniors.

Find a Role Model

Walking inspiration
A life well-lived

During graduate school, I found a picture of a joyful older woman in People magazine – of all places. I kept her picture in my notebook of inspirations and accomplishments ever since. I hoped that by the time I reach my later years that I will walk with strength, integrity, confidence and joy. I realized that achieving my goal meant greeting each and every day with a zest for living and gathering the strength and will to walk…. smiling upon a stranger…. and giving more than I take…. This has not always been easy – I had a bout of sciatica at 50 and could not walk for a week. I have had periods of sadness, loss and loneliness along the way. But I never let go of my goals –  to tread lightly upon the earth and bring more joy than sadness to those I touch.

And a Hope for the Future

The first time I visited Europe I noticed all of the families walking in the evening. I wondered why so many Americans jump into their cars and rush to the next destination. The “sedentary epidemic” only continues to worsen and Americans’ health is suffering because of it. My hope is that more and more Americans will begin to enjoy the benefits of walking. And that we will design our communities with open spaces, accessible paths and quiet, contemplative places. May you walk in peace and beauty all of the days of your life.

Walking before our Ohio picnic
Walking with my dear nephew Dave

One thought on “Take a Hike!

  1. What a great essay on the love of walking. I especially enjoy the descriptions of taking a stroll and absorbing all the wonderful sights, sounds and smells of the clean outdoors. Here’s to walking! It really is the original and best way to go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment