Celebrating Cherries

It is April and here in the Pacific Northwest flowering fruit trees are blooming in succession. At the University of Washington, the Quad’s Yoshino Cherry trees recently completed their annual flowering. As the blooms fade, delicate petals drift through the air, then softly land creating a carpet beneath each tree. Dreamscape is the best word to describe the scene. During the height of blossoming, hundreds of students and visitors mingle, take selfies or simply stroll. Hanami (cherry blossom viewing) is a tradition in Japanese culture as a time to practice both mindfulness and gratitude. It is also a time to reflect on your own mortality. When I worked at UW, I enjoyed many such walks through the Quad.

This year, I avoided the crowds and meandered along a quiet neighborhood street adorned with over 20 cherry trees. I found a sturdy tree and clung to two strong branches. I silently rejoiced in another spring and opportunity for renewal. I inhaled deeply as I looked up beyond the thick branches, through pink and white petals to the sky above. Then embracing the trunk, I exhaled deeply feeling the support of the earth beneath me.

From Fairyland to Fruit Forest

In less than two months, cherry trees will begin to bear luscious red fruit. Cherries are small stone fruits that come in a variety of colors and flavors. There are more than a thousand varieties grown in the United States belonging to two major categories — tart (Prunus cerasus) and sweet (Prunus avium). The first tart cherries were planted in northern Michigan in 1852 by a Presbyterian missionary. Tart cherries thrive to this day along the shores of Lake Michigan.

According to Washington State University, Washington, California, and Oregon are the primary sweet cherry producing states, accounting for more than 73% of the quantity produced nationwide (Northwest Horticultural Council, 2022 Fact Sheet). Cherries are an important part of Washington state’s economy, contributing over $600 million annually and supporting over 20k jobs. The three main types of sweet cherries grown in Washington are Bing, Rainier and Chelan.

The ancestors of today’s cultivated sweet cherries (also known as wild cherries) were found for centuries throughout Europe, the Middle East and Asia. Cherry stones (pits) have been found in Bronze Age sites; carbon dated as far back as 2077 BCE. Theophrastus mentioned cherries in his 3rd century BC book, Enquiry into Plants. According to his writing, cherries were cultivated by the Greeks many centuries earlier. Sweet cherries were brought to North America by English colonists in 1629. In 1847 Henderson Lewelling planted an orchard in western Oregon using nursery stock transported by an ox cart from Iowa. Want to learn more? Read the Northwest Cherries website.

Pacific Northwest Native Cherries

Bitter Cherry (Prunus emarginata) is native to the Pacific Northwest and parts of the Far West. As the name implies, the fruit is too bitter for human consumption but is eaten by deer, elk and bear. Chokecherry (Prunus virginiana), another PNW native bears fruit rich in antioxidants and, when sweetened, is popular in jams and syrups. Native Americans use dried Chokecherries in pemmican, a traditional food staple. Chokecherry bark and roots have healing qualities. It has been an ingredient in traditional medicines including cough syrups, sedatives, blood-fortifying tonics and appetite stimulants. Black cherry aka wild cherry (Prunus serotina) is closely related to Chokecherries with a wider distribution. Black cherry is edible raw or in jams, jellies and syrups and was cultivated in Central and South America prior to contact. Black cherry was widely used by the colonists in cough syrups.

Cherries are a SuperFood!

Cherries are a delicious, versatile snack. They pair well with many foods, including trail mix, fruit salad, in oatmeal, in smoothies, or as a natural sweetener in baked goods. Cherries are not only full of flavor but are packed with fiber, nutrients, vitamins and nutrients. (Healthline.com)

  • They are a great source of fiber, keeping your digestive system healthy.
  • Although they satisfy a sweet tooth, they release glucose slowly and evenly.
  • They can lower uric acid in the blood and help prevent gout attacks.
  • They are a source of Vitamins C, B, K, manganese, copper, potassium and magnesium. (Potassium has been associated with a reduced risk of heart disease and stroke.)
  • They are rich in antioxidants and anti-inflammatory compounds.
  • According to the NW Cherry web site, sweet cherries are one of the few plant sources of melatonin, a substance that helps regulate your sleep-wake cycle.
  • The Cleveland Clinic cites studies of long-distance runners, indicating that tart cherry juice may ease inflammation and sore muscles after a workout without any side effects.

A Recipe to Share

I love cherry pie with whipped cream and swoon at the sight of Black Forest Cake. Delightful deserts with cherries probably number in the thousands.

I recently read The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking and was immediately attracted to the risalamande recipe. Rislamande is a Danish traditional desert eaten during the winter holiday season. I am making my own version as I write this. It is simple – half whipped cream, half partially cooked rice with chopped almonds and topped with hot cherry sauce. For my cherry sauce, I used frozen tart cherries, cooked with chia seeds, ginger syrup, cardamom and a touch of rose water. What could be cozier than a bowl of creamy rice pudding with cherries on top?

Orchard Memories

MADAME RANEVSKY (looking out into the garden): Oh, my childhood, my pure and happy childhood! I used to sleep in this nursery. I used to look out from here into the garden. Happiness awoke with me every morning! And the orchard was just the same then as it is now; nothing is altered. (Laughing with joy.) It is all white, all white! Oh, my cherry orchard! After the dark and stormy autumn and the frosts of winter you are young again and full of happiness; the angels of heaven have not abandoned you. Oh! If only I could free my neck and shoulders from the stone that weighs them down! If only I could forget my past!

from The Cherry Orchard by Anton Chekhov, 1903

Like Madame Ranevsky, I have fond memories of my childhood orchard. We were lucky enough to grow up with both sweet and sour cherry trees. We made pies with sour cherries, topped with whipped cream or ice cream. When our sweet cherries were ripe, I simply climbed my favorite tree and feasted to my heart’s content.

In graduate school, I happened upon the Owen Cherry while walking along the Willamette River. I was drawn to the lone tree where Eugene Skinner’s orchard had stood. Now all of these years later, the rose garden has matured, and younger cherry trees were planted nearby. It is one of my favorite places ANYWHERE.

We planted a cherry tree on our small plot of land in the heart of Capitol Hill. For years, our Bing tree was heavy with fruit just in time for my birthday. Then one year, tent worms invaded and devoured my precious cherries. Dan worked hard to eradicate the tent worms. They returned for several years, then were finally eradicated after much effort. My husband pruned highly infected branches. I mournfully rubbed the scarred bark where sap oozed out. And thanked the tree for the fifteen or more years of spring flowers, summer shade and sweet fruit in abundance. My tree was never quite the same. Later we moved, leaving behind fond memories of our urban garden.

When we bought our current home, we planted another cherry tree. Unfortunately, this cherry tree failed to thrive. It was overwhelmed by two Hornbeams we planted at the same time. We thought we had plenty of room, but the Hornbeams unexpectedly grew to a giant size within eight to ten years and nearly swallowed the poor little cherry. Were they mislabeled or was our sheet mulching too effective? After several years, my husband cut our cherry tree down. Our garden grows more beautiful every year, although I miss eating cherries from my own tree.

My father came to live with us after suffering a stroke. I loved walking with my father – he taught me the fine art of strolling – to observe the natural world of grace and beauty, and to gaze at the sky and smell the flowers. He often collected pollen on his nose. I took him to the Arboretum when the cherry trees were in bloom. We walked slowly down the grassy park lane to a grove of trees. It was a clear sunny day with a few puffy clouds in the sky. I helped him down to recline on the grass. We gazed to the heavens in silence for about half an hour. We were both sublimely happy. That was his final spring. When I view cherry blossoms each spring, my father is with me.

Gratitude to the Farmers

The majority of Washington’s fruit trees are located in the Yakima Valley. It is also a wine-tasting tourist destination. We have toured the wineries, and visited farms, orchards and produce markets from Wenatchee to Cashmere to Prosser, home of Chukar Cherries. If you have not explored the agricultural areas of Washington state, take a trip to the east side. We are fortunate to live in a land of abundance. And for the many people who cultivate and harvest our foods.

Leave a comment